Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Always before, I was with my children.  Amazing as those times were, I was busy being a parent. And I didn’t have a camera.

I gave myself a personal day to play, paint brush in one hand and camera in the other.  I pondered posting of this magnificent, somewhat hidden treasure.  But then I realized I don’t have a big enough following to worry about what I like to think of as a secret in the city. City Museum, St. Louis, MO.  They craft and make with donated items, re-purposing at the very core in oh so cool ways.

Anyway, a couple weeks ago I got word that they were repainting rollers they re-purposed to the likes of spindles along stairway and balcony railings.  Art Deco painting. Yeah, baby!  And they were opening it to the public, via paid general admission, during an announced date and time. Yes! Yes! Yes! However, being the responsible adult I generally am,  duty called and the moment was lost. The first time for them to be repainted in 20 years. So when I heard there was to be another session, I informed my client I would not be working that day, no matter what. I am soooooo glad I took my camera. (If you haven’t guessed, there are some pictures.)  The rollers got me there, but then……

Did I mention the caves and 10-story high slides, and constructs of wire and other mediums forming human habitrails throughout?  Yes, any time you see a big spiraling wire structure, people are able to travel through such, sometimes several stories above ground.

I didn’t even go to the outdoor MonstroCity, though you can see snippets of such through a couple windows. Next time.

But until then, I hope you enjoy the pictures. (Categories:  The Rollers, Wired Up, Caves, Eclectic Assortment)

(Click on images to enlarge)

The Rollers

 

Wired Up

Caves

Eclectic Assortment